Image Frame

The I-League is currently one of the first tier premier leagues in Indian football league system.For sponsorship reasons with Hero MotoCorp, the league is officially known as the Hero I-League. It is currently contested by 13 clubs across the country.


The competition was founded in 2007 as the successor to the National Football League (NFL), with the first season starting in November 2007.The league was launched as India's first ever professional football league with the aim to increase the player pool for the India national team.Unlike the Indian Super League, the I-League operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the I-League 2nd Division.For the clubs that become I-League champions, they are granted the opportunity to participate in the AFC Cup, Asia's secondary international club competition.


Since the inception of the I-League, a total of seven clubs have been crowned champions. Dempo have won the most titles in league history, being crowned champions three times. Churchill Brothers, Mohun Bagan, and Bengaluru have won the league twice. Salgaocar, Aizawl, Minerva Punjab, Chennai City and Gokulam Kerala have won it once.